Basil Lasagna Rolls

February 14, 2007

This is one of my favorite dishes I have made. I love basil, and the sauce has quite a lot. I use the pesto for this recipe all the time! It is my favorite for sure.

2 Tablespoon olive oil
5 green onions, chopped
1 clove minced garlic
1 1/4 cups grated zucchini
1/4 cup chopped sun-dried tomatoes
1/4 cup vegan spinach pesto (you can use your own recipe, or the one I provide below)
1/3 cup fresh bread crumbs
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
Salt to taste (Seriously do not add until you taste! I ended up oversalting, and omitted the salt from the sauce to cut down on the salty flavor)

Sauce:
2 Tablespoons tomato paste
1/4 cup water
14.5 oz can diced tomatoes- blended (I hate chunky tomato sauce, but you can just used diced tomatoes if you prefer)
1/4 fresh minced basil, or one Tablespoon dried

12 or so lasagna noodles

Heat half of the oil in over medium heat, add half of the green onions and all of the garlic. Cook until soft. Place in a food processor or blended with the sun dried tomatoes, pesto, bread crumbs, cayenne, and salt. Blend until smooth. Stir in the zucchini. Refrigerate until ready to use.

Heat the remaining oil, and lightly cook the remaining onions. Add in the sauce ingredients except for the basil, and season lightly with salt and pepper. Simmer for about 10 minutes, then stir in basil. Reduce heat and keep warm.
Cook lasagna noodles. Drain and spread on wax paper. Pat dry.
Divide the chilled filling among the noodles, roll each into a tight spiral and place in a lightly greased 13×9 glass pan. Lightly nap the tops with a small amount of the sauce. Cover with aluminium foil and cook in a 350 degree oven for 20 minites.
Spread a small amount of the sauce over each one and serve.

Pesto recipe:
2 cloves garlic
1/3 cup pine nuts
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups lossely packed fresh spinach
1/4 cup olive oil

Blend or process until smooth.

I am still working on an about me page- maybe by the weekend… maybe.
Also, does anyone know how to ‘hide’ part of my post behind a cut? I would like to figure it out so I can minimize the page stretching.

2 Responses to “Basil Lasagna Rolls”

  1. vicki Says:

    Hi Emily! These lasagna rolls look fabulous! Thanks for the recipe & I can’t wait for my garden to start producing basil again. You have a great blog name. :o)

  2. Rachel Says:

    Mmmmm. I am not sure how I found your blog…but I’m glad I did. My family and I are not even vegetarians at this point, but we have drastically cut our meat consumption over the last several months. As far as I know, this was our first ever vegan meal (just finished it about 5 minutes ago) and it was fantastic! Thanks so much for passing it along.

    Rachel


Leave a Reply

