Spinach, sun-dried tomato couscous

February 25, 2007

Couscous:
1 1/4 cups water
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon olive oil
1 cup uncooked Couscous

Bring water, salt, and oil to a boil. Pour in couscous, stir quickly, cover and remove from heat. Let sit for five minutes, then fluff with a fork and serve.

Spinach garnish
2 cups thinly shredded fresh rinsed spinach (do not dry the spinach)
1/2 cup sun-dried tomatoes, thinly sliced
2 teaspoons + 1 teaspoon olive oil
3 stalks chopped green onion
2 gloves garlic, minced

While the couscous is cooking, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add garlic and onions and cook until fragrant and slightly softened. Add in sun-dried tomatoes, and cook until warm. Quickly add in the wet spinach, and cook over low heat until wilted (be careful not to overcook or the spinach will become squishy).
Spoon couscous onto a plate, and top with spinach garnish. Sprinkle with a small amount of olive oil, and salt if desired.

O.K., kitchen appliance/accessory craving time. I want one of these like you would not believe. When you can make doughnuts as gorgeous as this, who could resist?
I always think I have so many more food pictures, but when I actually go to post, I realize how much more often I need to photograph things =/

4 Responses to “Spinach, sun-dried tomato couscous”

  1. jess Says:

    that is simply delicious looking. I like how the colors stand out against the grain.

    I too, want a donut pan, but really, I can’t justify it.

  2. anushka Says:

    Looks delish! I can’t imagine baked doughnuts being as nice as fried ones though…Or am I just greedy and unhealthy? Does it matter? No.

    Happy Monday!

  3. craftapple Says:

    I came over from your moms. Thanks so much for this recipe! I’m printing it off right now. It looks delicious. I used to eat couscous all the time, but it’s been a while now. I already have some spinach in the fridge…I can’t wait to try it.


  4. our kitchen appliances are well maintained and taking good care of by doing some routine maintennance once a month ‘


Leave a Reply

