Macaroni and Cheese

April 17, 2007

I tried making the New Farm recipe for Mac and Cheez (found here), and I love this stuff. Seriously, it is even good cold…. but I like cold food =P
When my mom made macaroni and cheese, she would cut up ham and broccoli in it. Obviosuly I skipped the ham, but the broccoli was delicious. Maybe next time I’ll cut up some vegan soy dogs, and go super tacky and you all…

Sad news: I tihnk I am gluten intolerant. Phooey. I try to eat a variety of food, but sandwiches, muffins, etc. are very easy and quick for me. It’s not bad enough to where I can never eat it, it just makes me feel a little… off. This week I am trying gluten free, just to be sure. It is going to mean some more creative cooking, that’s for sure. I’m not worried about it. I’ve always had weird food allergies/intolerances and I’ve always figured out a way to eat well with them. Onto more pictures. (note: these are all kind of ‘saved’ up from the past few weeks. I don’t eat sugar that much. And I make up a lot of recipes, but I either forget them or I don’t take pictures. I’m working on it…)

‘Meatball” sandwich:

Just a simple lentil ball recipe. They were pretty good, but for some reason they crumbled like crazy. It made for some messy eating-but at leats it tasted good.
San-Francisco Style Sourdough Bread:

I’ve been trying to get a good starter for a while now, and I think that the slightly warmer/wetter weather has helped it along.

Lunch I had using the bread:

It is a piece of toasted sourdough, red pepper hummus, spinach and tomatoes. Slightly broiled, and really darkly toasted. Oops. It was good, but I didn’t care much for the hummus. Waste of chickpeas =P

Tomorrow will be the gigantic cookie post. I made up the best chocolate chip cookie recipe. I’m totally bragging, but I don’t care. They were a-mazing. Included will be some cupcakes from Easter. Boy am I behind.

4 Responses to “Macaroni and Cheese”

  1. Mihl Says:

    Everything looks so yummy, especially your toasted sourdough. Sorry to hear about the gluten intolerance though:(

  2. jessssss Says:

    Your mac looked so good we made this with dinner last night!

  3. Celine Says:

    I know what I’ll have to be making again soon: that mac and cheese stuff!!! last time I made it, I didn’t partake, for whatever reason. what’s wrong with me?
    already looking forward to seeing your cookie post!
    and sorry about the gluten intolerance. I think I have the same problem, but my love for gluten foods is too strong to do something about it, unless it gets to be even less comfortable.

  4. melisser Says:

    Your bread looks great!


Leave a Reply

