sweet things

April 20, 2007

So, I know I promised the sugar overload post yesterday… but I ran out of time. I hate that. Time either goes by so fast, or crawls by and it always seems like I have stuff to do on the days it just won’t slow down.
ANYWAY, here it is one day late. I even included my chocolate chip cookie recipe which is so good. Now I just need to figure out a wheat free version….

For these, I made this recipe and subbed 1/3 cup cocoa powder for part of the flour. They had such a good texture, and I was having so much fun making these I put little hearts on the front and sprinkled them with sugar. If you are going to try them, I would sub slightly more cocoa in (1/2-3/4 cups). They were delicious, but the chocolate flavor was a little too subtle.

And a VCTOTW recipe. I made mint chocolate ones, but the remaining ones were smashed and the pictures were crepe. So you get the Coconut Lime cupcake picture. They were so good. Funny story: I brought these to an Easter dinner with family and everyone was either fascinated at the idea of vegan cupcakes or they made fun of me. But that was only the adults who were poking fun =D
Anyway, an elderly woman was there and she has bad vision. She thought these were cucumber cupcakes, and thought perhaps I was taking the whole vegan thing a little far. lol.


On most every vegan community I have ever visited, there is a large discussion on the best chocolate cookie recipe. I personally dislike cakey cookies, but the thin crunchy ones seem to much like crackers. My favorite cookies are slightly crunchy on the outside, and soft and chewy on the inside. The batter also has to taste good raw-that’s half the fun of making cookies. I just veganized the recipe I made before going vegan, and they taste the same if not better. Actually, of course they taste better. Everything tastes better when it’s vegan.
These taste so good with a glass of rice or soymilk.

* 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
* 1 teaspoon baking soda
* 1 teaspoon salt
* 1 cup slightly softened Earth Balance
* 3/4 cup granulated sugar
* 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
* 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
* 2 TB cornstarch mixed with 5 TB rice/soy milk
* 1 3/4 cups Chocolate Chips

375 F
Cream Earth Balance and sugars. In a seperate bowl, stir together all of the dry ingredients. Stir sugar mixture and dry ingredients together. Stir in the cornstarch mixture and the vanilla. Fold in chocolate chips. Drop by spponful onto a cookie sheet, and bake for 9-11 minutes until slightly browned on the bottom.

3 Responses to “sweet things”

  1. Briggitte Says:

    Those look really cute I love the hearts!

    Your blog is really great its good to see other young vegan bloggers out on the interweb 🙂

  2. Mihl Says:

    Man, I need to stop eating sweets, cakes and all that stuff full of sugar. So no sugar overload for me. I already had mine at the weekend. But everything over here looks so fantastic. I’ll be back for more.

  3. Celine Says:

    every time I come to visit your blog I go back to this entry and this chocolate chip cookie picture in particular. I crave like I have never craved before.


Leave a Reply

