Vegan Chili

April 25, 2007

So, I have come to the conclusion that I am either intolerant to wheat… or my tummy just hates when I eat it. Which is sort of the same thing. This is depressing to me beucase I LOVE to bake! I make bread, cookies, muffins, cakes, etc. and now that will change. Of course I will continue to make these things but I will have to start testing new flours and such. The process won’t be much different than switching to vegan. Perhaps a little more time-consuming, but it will just mean reading labels for more than just whey and such, and now looking for wheat byproducts. My first week or so of gluten free is going well. I messed up and had a cupcake and about died-actually more like I just felt like my tummy was going to explode-, and today I had a small bit of a cookie and again felt blech.
I console myself with the thought that there is a gluten-free cupcake recipe in VCTOTW, and that there are others out there who have done it as well. I will now be known as the weird teenager who doesn’t animal, but who also doesn’t eat anything ‘normal’ anymore. Ah well, I kind of stand out a lot already. Might as well up it.

Anyway, I made the most delicious chili last week. You know the canned Heinz stuff? That stuff tastes like mashed crap, but the consistency of the sauce is good. It is really thick and spicy. I came up with this recipe, and it came out really good. It is super thick and filling. Here I had it with dry ‘fried’ polenta:

I just cooked up the polenta, refridgerated (that looks so wrong) it, and then put it in a warm skillet until browned. On it’s own, polenta is kind of blah but the spiciness of the chili was a nice balance.

The first time I had the chili, I hadn’t quite figured out the whole wheat thing, so this one isn’t exactly wheat free.

I saw this idea on the PPK. A girl baked the cornbread right onto the chili. My omni-family devoured it:

Here is the recipe. After making it I did realize it could have used a tad more spice to it. I would add a chopped jalapeno to add a bit more flavor. This makes a LOT. I was making enough for 6 people, and I wanted leftovers. Feel free to half it.

Vegan Chili
6 cups beans (I used a mix of kidney, black beans and black eyed peas)
1 cup chopped onion
1 chopped bell pepper
1/4 cup roasted red pepper, minced
1 TB dry oregano
2 TB chili powder
2 TB molasses (I used black-strap)
4 cups veggie broth
3 TB fresh cilantro/1 TB dry
1 tsp. hot sauce
1 cup water mixed with 3 TB flour
Small can chopped tomatoes
4 TB tomato paste
2 cloves garlic
fresh lime juice, sour ‘cream’ and green onions (optional, though I do recommend the lime)

Soften onions, jalapenos and fresh bell pepper in a small amount of oil. Add in remaining ingredients EXCEPT for the water/flour mixture and the garnishes. Bring to a boil, and then simmer for about 45 minutes.

If you are making the cornbread version, simmer for 30 minutes. Pour into a 13×9 pan leaving 1.5 inches for the bread. Spread your favorite cornbread recipe on top, and bake according to cornbread recipe instructions.

8 Responses to “Vegan Chili”

  1. urban vegan Says:

    Looking muy bueno!

  2. Briggitte Says:

    Im soo making black bean chili and cornbread this weekend. Yours looks yummy!

  3. Mihl Says:

    What a great idea to bake the cornbread onto the chili!

  4. Kate Says:

    Yum, your chile looks realy good.

  5. claire Says:

    YUM! Your mom pointed me to this blog and I am bloglining you and you yummy recipes!

  6. Liliy Says:

    Could you have a gluten intolerance? Chili looks good.

  7. Matt Says:

    if you think you have a wheat intolerance, go see your doctor as it’s an incredibly easy thing to test for
    it’s likely that it’s something else though. wheat/gluten intolerance is so commonly mis-diagnosed. mainly by alternative therapists who don’t bother tell you that it’s really easy to test for so you’ll know for sure.


  8. Mmm polenta. I’ve been trying to look up different ways to attack this.


Leave a Reply

